Interview with Beatrice

This is an interview with my heroine from LUMINOSITY, Beatrice. Thanks to all those who helped me to come up with the questions!

Who are you?

My name is Beatrice, and I am a Seer.

What was your favorite toy/ game you played as a child?

We didn’t really have time to play at the Institution when we were children. Most of our time was spent in classes and training for combat. But, if I had to pick any game, one that we play a lot now is marbles. Brandon gets very possessive of his marbles, though, so be careful if you play with him. You’ll never hear the end of it if you happen to win one of his favorites.

If you could be any animal, what kind would you be?

I think I would like to be a bird because most of them are free to go where they want, and sometimes I feel caged being in the Institution, even moreso now that I’ve had those Visions. The Keeper keeps me close so nothing happens to me. It feels a little stifling sometimes.

What is in your fridge right now?

I don’t have a fridge. We all eat in the cafeteria at a certain, designated time.

Why are manhole covers round?

I’m not sure that’s really important to anything at all.

What is your idea of a perfect vacation?

We don’t get vacations here. That, and there really isn’t anywhere left in the world to go, even if you wanted to. We’re kept inside The City for our own protection, since most other places are uninhabitable. The only other city I know of is Aura, where the Dreamcatchers live, and no one has been there. Who would want to go, really?

What was the last book you read?

Effective Combat Practices

 If you could trade places with anyone else in the world for a day, who would it be and why?

I would probably trade places with Mae, because she’s always so high-spirited, and nothing can get her down. Despite the fact that we are waiting for an impending attack by the Dreamcatchers, Mae doesn’t let it get to her. She’s always sunshine and rainbows, and it’d be nice to experience that, if only for a day.

If you had only six months to live, what would you do with the time? Who would you want to talk to?

I’d most likely spend it doing something with Gabe, since he’s been my best friend since we were big enough to walk. I don’t know what we’d do, though. Gabe loves ham day in the cafeteria, so maybe we’d just sit around eating ham for the rest of the day.

How would you describe yourself in 3 words? How would others describe you in 3 words?

I would describe myself as being “way too serious.” There’s just so much that has to get done, and so much happening that I don’t have time to just be Beatrice anymore. My friends, though, would describe me as probably being loyal, outgoing and brave. They always say I’m afraid of nothing, but I don’t think they know the half of having a power that is so strong that everyone is relying on me for their answers.

If I held a gun to your head, tell me why I should let you live.

Because if I don’t live, you and everyone else will die.

 

Leave a Reply

