Interview with Gabe

Interviewer: Today, we are interviewing Seer Gabriel, an intermediate Seer at the Institution. How are you doing today, Gabriel?

Gabe: Please call me Gabe. Only The Keeper or my instructors call me “Gabriel,” and it drives me nuts.

Interviewer: Okay, Gabe. Mind if we ask you a few questions about yourself?

Gabe: Nope, that’s why I’m here!

Interviewer: First off, how would you describe yourself in just three words?

Gabe: Nosey, loyal and confident.

Interviewer: Nosey, huh? In what ways are you nosey?

Gabe: Well, whenever Beatrice has a Vision, I like to be there to hear it. Not many people get to hear the details, you see. The Keeper lets me hang around because I’m Bea’s friend, I guess. Sometimes, though, she sends me away. Lately, The Keeper’s been doing it more often than not, like she doesn’t want me to get too close to Bea or something. Maybe I’ll ruin her concentration? I don’t know.

Interviewer: And what does The Keeper do when she’s there, exactly?

Gabe: The Keeper is in charge of making sure everyone’s Visions are recorded and kept on file. When Beatrice has a Vision, The Keeper comes right away. It’s like, somehow, she knows when Bea’s going to get her Vision, even if The Keeper doesn’t always show up for the Visions of others. She has assistants.

Interviewer: Interesting. It’s not very often we’re offered insight as to what goes on in the Institution. It’s kept pretty secret. Anyway, next question: What kind of people do you dislike?

Gabe: I don’t like dishonest people. I hate it when friends keep things from me, or when others lie and cheat and scheme their way through their lives. We have this one Seer, Timothy, who does nothing but cheat his way through our exams, and who knows if he doesn’t make up details about his Visions. I don’t know how he’s earned his raven’s wings, but he did somehow, and it makes me so mad.

Interviewer: If I gave you an infinite amount of money, how would you spend it?

Gabe: I’d probably try to rebuild The City into something that looks a lot nicer and cleaner. It’s a filthy mess after The War. Then again, the whole world is probably a mess, so maybe I’d spend enough to fix up other places as well…if there are many other places. I can’t imagine that there are much more people left outside of what we have. Aside from the Dreamcatchers, I don’t know who else is out there.

Interviewer: Why isn’t the number eleven pronounced “onety-one?”

Gabe: What?

Interviewer: Nothing. Next question. If you were in charge of The City, what would be three things you’d want to change?

Gabe: To be in charge of The City, I’d have to be The Keeper, and I wouldn’t want to wish her responsibility on anyone. There’s just too much to do. But, I guess if I had to answer, the first thing I’d do was make it so that the Seers weren’t confined in The Institution all the time. The second thing I’d do was learn more about The Citizens, since there’s so much I don’t know about them and want to know. Like…why are they so complacent living under the guidance of the Seers? The third, I’d bring down the barriers and open The City up to any other survivors so we can all come and go as we please. What are we being kept from anyway? Maybe I’d like to go on some sort of vacation.

Interviewer: Seers go on vacation?

Gabe: No, but maybe we would if we weren’t barricaded inside The City.

Interviewer: Good point. And our last question of the evening is this: If you could choose to live the rest of your days out on a stranded island with any person, who would it be?

Gabe: Most definitely Beatrice. She’s the only person who gets me, and we’ve been friends for a long time. Ever since I could remember. I know she’s gotten to be really busy with all her Visions and how important they are, and sometimes I wish I could take some of that away from her so she didn’t have to do it all on her own. Maybe being on a stranded island would be the vacation the both of us need.

Interviewer: Thank you, Seer Gabe, for your time today. I know you have your Training Games to go to, so I’ll let you go now.

Gabe: See you!

 

2 thoughts on “Interview with Gabe

  1. Very cool interview. I can’t wait to read the book!

  2. Sounds like an interesting world you’ve created or discovered there. Thanks for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

