2011 in Review

2011 was good to me, and I’m fortunate to say this. In some ways, it was a rough year, but in most ways, it gave me many things of which to be proud. Here are just a few of these things that I wish to share with you:

My Husband: Technically, I married him December 30th, 2010, but most of our marriage has taken place in 2011, so I’m going to scoot it into that year. We had a great first year of marriage together, and now we are looking forward to starting a family, and hopefully soon. He has stood by my side through my writing, and much more, and for that, I am grateful.

My Novel: I sat down and started to write LUMINOSITY in April of 2011. I had an idea that kept sweeping through my mind, and I also had an urge to see my book in the hands of my students, one in particular — Melinda. She would always read  YA books that seemed so interesting, and every week she’d bring a new one to class to share with me. I made it my goal to write a book that I could share with my students, and I finished writing that manuscript in July. Entangled Publishing picked it up in October. I’m very fortunate for this, and I’m super proud of myself for setting a writing goal and meeting it all on my own. I know some of you have read about my agent saga (and if you didn’t, trust me, it was indeed a saga), so the fact that I did this without one still impresses even myself.

My Crochet: This is silly, but I started to learn how to crochet around September, and I’ve been making stupid, little animals ever since. This is another goal that I set for myself and said, “Self, you are going to learn how to crochet something awesome.” Now…I don’t know if tiny, pink fish count as something awesome to you, but it certainly does for me.

My Tattoo: I got a tattoo on my right arm that reads, “Writing is both mask and unveiling” by E.B. White. It is very inspirational for me, and I love to look at the Jane Austin script/font and remind myself how important writing actually is, both for me and for my readers.

I can’t think of anything more right now that aren’t uber-personal, but just trust me when I say that it’s been a rough year, one that could have squished me, but instead I rose above it and conquered it, and now I’m looking forward to a good 2012 — one that will bring many changes, if I play my cards right.

Leave a Reply

